Log in

Rudolph John Barnes Award

At the First PCEA National Convention, May 17, 1975, Dale Gillis, Vice President of G.G. Ray Co. of Charlotte, a large Roofing Company at that time, presented to the Association two handsome trophies as a memorial award in memory of Rudolph John Barnes, Past President of G.G. Ray Company. Mr. Barnes was a strong supporter in the efforts made to make the PCEA a National Association. Since that time, the Rudolph John Barnes Award has been presented annually by National PCEA to recognize exceptional service at the National level by an outstanding individual in the Association. The original selection committee was made up of the National Directors from each chapter and they chose the recipient from members presented to them by their various chapters. This selection committee was later changed as the Association grew to the present Committee that consists of the five most recent active recipients.  The award consists of a large trophy with the recipient's name affixed, and is retained by the recipient for a period of one year, until the next recipient is selected.   A smaller trophy is then presented to the previous recipient as a permanent award.

Glenn Hessee named the 2020 - 2021 National Estimator of the Year

This year’s recipient is Glenn Hessee. 

Perhaps the most coveted award given by PCEA is the Rudolph John Barnes National Estimator of the Year Award.  This award is given annually to a person that has gone above and beyond on the National Level to contribute to the success of PCEA.  

Glenn has a great passion for the PCEA and promoting it throughout our industry. Glenn has always been the first to volunteer his time in both our local chapter and on the National level.

At the local level, Glenn has held the positions of Chapter President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, and At large board member, as well as the Newsletter Editor for several years. He was recognized in 2014 with the Newsletter of the Year Award.

At the National Level, Glenn has continuously given of his time as a member of the National Board in many various positions since 2007. Glenn has served previously as the National Secretary (2011 - 2012), NC Legislative Chair  (2010 - Present), Vice President (2013 - 2014), as a nominee for the National President-Elect (2013, 2014, & 2015), and as National President. In addition, Glenn has made it a special point of emphasis to work at both the National and Local levels to aid in the establishment of Student Chapters.

In addition to Glenn’s roles within PCEA, he is also member and current President of the Raleigh Chapter of Rolling ThunderTM, Inc. During a recent trip to D.C. with Rolling ThunderTM.  Glenn made it a point to visit with the Senator Burr and our Local Representative for the Raleigh area to talk about the Rolling ThunderTM mission, but also the PCEA and our Industry.

On the lighter side, Glenn looks forward to the PCEA National Convention every year, not only for the opportunity to meet with others in our industry, but for the opportunity to regale the Convention Crowd with his version of “Secret Agent Man”. He has attended every convention since 2007.

Past Recipients

Randall WilliamsCatawba Valley2020
Don Howard  At-Large 2019
Kim Lybrand Charlotte 2018
Rob Bauer Orlando 2017
Matt Solomon Columbia 2016
Randall Williams Catawba Valley 2015
William H. "Bill" Barton Columbia 2014
Cebert White Hampton Roads 2013
Gail Chapman Columbia 2012
Charles S. "Chuck" Sauls Orlando 2011
Wesley Ferree Triad 2010
Trey Shaw (Posthumously) CSRA 2009
Kevin Jackson Triangle 2008
Taylor Wyant Hampton Roads 2007
Alva D. Gaskin, Jr. CSRA 2006
Chris Betts Charlotte 2005
Ron Kiser Triad 2004
Dennis Childs Columbia 2003
Lynn Keaton Piedmont 2002
Mel Rosenbaum Charlotte 2001
Richard Mosby Central Virginia 2000
Cheryl Honeycutt Triangle 1999
Ann Helms CSRA 1998
Eddie Carroll Triad 1997
Grover Edwards Catawba Valley 1996
Wally Mills Triangle 1995
Don Earles Columbia 1994
Bill Shuler Triad 1993
Dick Wells Columbia 1992
Tim Harward Triangle 1991
Phil Spangler Piedmont 1990
Lynn Nash Catawba Valley 1989
Jack Smith Piedmont 1988
H.H. "Hub" Lyles Charlotte 1987
Bill Downey Triangle 1986
S. Ray Currin, Jr. Triad 1985
Ted G. Wilson Charlotte 1984
R. P. "Stephen" Davis Charlotte 1983
Larry Thompson Piedmont 1982
Marshall L. Gurley Triangle 1981
G. Keith Middleton Charlotte 1980
Frank "Dusty" Callohan Triangle 1979
Dale I. Gillis Charlotte 1978
W. Aubrey Federal Charlotte 1977
Vern W. "Bill" Helms, Jr. Charlotte 1976

PCEA - National Headquarters

Please Note: 

Contributions, gifts or payments to the Professional Construction Estimators Association are not tax deductible as charitable contributions.  

However, they may be tax deductible as ordinary and necessary business expense.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software